Students Earn College Scholarships from EREC

Escambia River Electric Cooperative is pleased to announce the winners of the 2017 Herman D. Johnson Scholarship Awards:  Rebecca Boutwell for Santa Rosa County and Daysha Kite for Escambia County.

Rebecca is the daughter of Sidney and Deidra Boutwell.  Rebecca plans to major in Biomedical Sciences and then continue on to medical school to become a pediatrician.  She is a varsity cheerleader, co-president of Senior Beta and the National Honor Society.  She is vice president of the Future Health Professionals Association and parliamentarian of the Student Government Association.

Daysha is the daughter of Jonathan and Christi Kite.  She plans to major in the field of Secondary Education and become a high school English teacher.  Daysha is a member of Future Farmers of America and the Fellowship of Christian Athletes.  She has played softball and served as softball manager for two years.  Daysha is the president of the Spirit Club and has also participated in track and weightlifting at Northview.

Rebecca and Daysha will receive $1,000 each for four years providing they continue to meet the scholarship criteria.  The scholarships were presented at the respective schools’ awards programs.

Congratulations to Rebecca and Daysha.  EREC wishes them the best of luck in their future endeavors.

Rebecca Boutwell is presented the scholarship award by trustee Dale Westmoreland.

Daysha Kite receives the scholarship award from trustee Sam Walker.