Students Earn College Scholarships from EREC

Escambia River Electric Cooperative is pleased to announce the winners of the 2021 Herman D. Johnson Scholarship Awards:  Andrea Moorer from Central School and Libby Pugh from Northview High School.

Andrea is the daughter of Robert and Rose Moorer. She plans to major in the field of Optometry. Andrea is Vice President of the Beta Club and Student Government. She is a member of many clubs and organizations including the Fellowship of Christian Athletes and the Spanish Club. Andrea is a member of the varsity track team and has been recognized as regional winner, top girls’ runner and received the citizenship award. She received the Voice of Democracy Certificate of Merit and awards for citizenship, public speaking, and educational excellence. Andrea tutors high school students and volunteers in the community. She is currently ranked number 1 in her class.

Libby is the daughter of Stephen and Star Pugh. She plans to major in the field of Pharmacy. Libby has served as President of the Student Government Association and is a class officer. She is a member of many clubs and organizations at Northview including the Beta Club, Fellowship of Christian Athletes, Future Business Leaders of America, and Future Farmers of America. Libby is a member of Phi Theta Kappa at Pensacola State College and a member of the National Society of High School Scholars. She plays varsity softball at Northview and volunteers at Bratt Elementary and Northwest Escambia Bradberry Park. Libby is currently ranked number 2 in her class.

Andrea and Libby will receive $1,000 each for four years providing they continue to meet the scholarship criteria.

Congratulations to Andrea and Libby. EREC wishes them the best of luck in their future endeavors.